The Sonic Temple Festival is fast approaching, and the police will be out looking for intoxicated drivers. If you find yourself pulled over for suspicion of an OVI, there are a few things you should do to help your situation.
According to Vertava Health Ohio, legal drivers’ maximum blood alcohol content is .8 percent. However, for underage drivers, the maximum BAC is .2 percent. College students have very little leniency when they choose to drink and drive.
If a police officer pulls you over, the first thing you need to do is act compliant. Be very clear about your actions. Use your turn signal to pull over and turn off your engine. If it is dark, keep your lights on. Do not reach for your license until the officer asks for it.
Refuse a field sobriety test
Now that you demonstrated compliance, you do not have to provide any more information. Remain polite, but do not tell the police officer anything about your activities. If the officer tells you to get out of your vehicle, always comply. However, you do not have a legal obligation to perform a field sobriety test. Refuse it and do not admit to drinking.
Think about submitting to a breath test
BAC breath tests are mandatory in Ohio. However, you may refuse a breath test and accept an OVI Impaired charge if you believe your penalties will worsen after testing. Higher BAC percentages lead to worse punishments.
You cannot always avoid an OVI charge when you get pulled over. However, you can help yourself by limiting the information you divulge. Understand your rights and remain civil throughout the exchange.