Facing Charges In Ohio For Drunk Driving
Whether you live in Ohio or elsewhere in the nation, it is against the law to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol. The name of the charge associated with this crime varies by state, but in Ohio, you may be charged with operating a vehicle impaired, or OVI for short.
Charges Can Vary Depending On The Charge
It’s important to know that if you have multiple drunk driving offenses on your record, subsequent charges for OVI within a six-year period will carry steeper penalties, making it critical for you to have a strong criminal defense strategy. Examples:
First-time OVI offense
This carries the possibility of up to180 days in jail, up to a $1,000 fine and the suspension of your license for up to three years.
OVI, fourth offense
You may face 60 to 365 days in jail, up to a $10,000 fine and the possibility of a permanent suspension of your license. An ignition interlock device may also be installed on your vehicle.
Know Your Rights — Talk To An Attorney
At the Law Offices of Jason M. Donnell, LLC, we’ve seen defendants accept plea deals that weren’t in their best interests simply because they did not understand their rights. At our firm, we make sure you fully understand the charges against you, your options and the best way to proceed. We make sure your rights are protected and that the outcome of your case is truly in your best interests.
To get started with a free initial phone consultation, call our law office in Lancaster at 740-653-8171. You may also set up an appointment online using this contact form.