Putting You In Control During A Difficult Situation

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Firm News
  4.  » Have you been accused of drug possession in Ohio?

Have you been accused of drug possession in Ohio?

On Behalf of | Dec 13, 2019 | Firm News

Life is full of unexpected events. You may have had an idea of certain events that would take place in your life, but you may also have found yourself in situations that you had no intention of facing. For example, you may never have intended to end up under arrest for drug-related charges.

In Ohio, drug laws are very strict, so you may understandably feel concerned about your predicament since you faced arrest in the state. Still, it is important to remember that you have legal rights and options for defending against any allegations that come against you.

Drug possession

If authorities suspect you of drug possession, you may want to understand what that means for your specific case. In general, the law prohibits knowingly obtaining, using or possessing a controlled substance. You could also face a charge for possession or aggravated possession, which differ in the following ways:

  • If authorities charge you with drug possession, they suspect that you had possession of a controlled substance that fell into the category of Schedule III, IV or V. These categories tend to contain substances that are less dangerous.
  • If you face an aggravated drug possession charge, authorities suspect that you had possession of a Schedule I or II substance, which are more dangerous. However, you may not face an aggravated charge if you allegedly possessed heroin, cocaine, marijuana or LSD.

Understanding the exact charge you face can have a significant impact on the way you choose to approach your criminal defense. If you face an aggravated charge, you may be at risk for more severe punishment in the event of a conviction, so you may want to take a more aggressive defense approach.

Possible penalties

Though you want to work toward the best outcome possible, you may still want to know what penalties could come against you. If you did not have a bulk amount of the substance, you could face a fine of up to $1,000, up to 180 days in jail or both. The penalties increase if the court considers you a repeat offender.

As with any type of criminal charge, you have the right to create and present a defense against the allegations. It may benefit you to discuss your particular circumstances with an experienced Ohio attorney who can explain your options and help you determine your best course of action.

Lawyers of Distinction
Attorney And Practice Magazine's Family Law Attorney Top 10 | 2018
American Institute of Trial Lawyers | Litigator of the Year 2019